This is an eight hour course. Students should expect to shoot approximately 125 rounds of ammunition. This is conducted as a NON-Approved NRA Personal Protection in the Home class is for law-abiding adult citizens as defined by applicable federal, state, or local laws and experienced shooters.

Topics Covered:

  • Basic Defensive Shooting Skills
  • Strategies for Home Safety
  • Responding to a violent confrontation
  • Firearms and the Law
  • How to choose a handgun for self-defense
  • Continued opportunities for skill development
  • ​Live Fire Training/Qualification

Teaches the basic knowledge, skills, and attitude essential to the safe and efficient use of a handgun for protection of self and family, and to provide information on the law-abiding individuals right to self-defense. This course is only conducted by Approved MN Personal Protection Act Instructor(s)/NRA Certified Advanced Pistol Instructors.​

Free Bonuses: 

Minnesota Permit to Carry

The following must be met to apply for a Minnesota Permit to Carry:

  1. This class is for Residents of Minnesota & Non-Residents of Minnesota
  2. Must be at least 21 years of age
  3. Must complete an application form
  4. Must not be prohibited from possessing a firearm under - Minnesota Statute 624.714
  5. Must not be listed in the criminal gang investigation system
  6. Non-residents may apply to any Minnesota County Sheriff
  7. Must provide Certificate of completed authorized firearms training.
  8. Training by a certified instructor must be completed with in one year of an original or renewal application. 

The instructor as well as your successful completion certificate for this course will meet the requirement of #6. You the student are responsible for #1-5 if you wish to apply for a permit to carry in Minnesota


Students attending to receive their Iowa Permit to Carry Certificate will attend the class room portion only, after successfully completing the written test the student will receive their Iowa Certificate of Completion.

Iowa students who want to receive both their Iowa Certificate and Minnesota Permit to Carry Certificate need to enroll into the Minnesota Permit to Carry Class at the rate of $65.00 to receive both certificates. 

Students will need to have:

8 Hours


  • $65.00 +tax - Minnesota Permit to Carry Certificate (MN Residents or NON-Residents)plus IA Resident Certificate
  • $30.00 +tax - IA Permit to Carry Certificate - only
  • $125.00 +tax - NRA Personal Protection in the Home Completion Certificate (NRA PPitH Class)
    • Students wishing to receive their:
    • NRA Personal Protection in the Home Completion Certificate & NRA student packet 
      • NRA PPitH Student Packet includes: 
      • NRA Personal Protection in the Home Course Completion Certificate
      • Winchester/NRA Marksmanship Qualification Program book 
      • Personal Protection in the Home Handbook


Phone: 1-605-360-5734

Email: learntwoshoot@gmail.com